Back to Graphic version

Deadline extended for High Growth and International Trade awards.
The deadline for two of the Special Category Awards has been extended until Monday 13 October.

North of England Excellence Awards 2014



What are the North of England Excellence Awards?

Established in 1995 the North of England Excellence Awards recognise organisations that achieve and maintain superior performance.

An organisation entering the Awards receives

  • A benchmarking visit to a recent Award winner
  • Valuable feedback from our Assessor Teams – the basis for a robust and practical business improvement agenda
  • A way of differentiating itself from competitors
  • Enhanced reputation – and external validation of progress on the journey to excellence
  • Detailed benchmarking data – and the opportunity to compare performance with others
  • Widespread recognition and publicity – and stakeholder appreciation of its achievements
  • Positive motivation of employees at all levels

Applicants come from industry, commerce, education, public utilities, local government, education and the voluntary sector.

Awards about 01

The North of England Excellence Award process is founded on the eight Fundamental Concepts of Excellence contained in the EFQM Excellence Model 2013©.Although the Excellence Model is used as the assessment framework applicants need not be using it.

What is looked for is a clear demonstration that a structured and comprehensive approach to performance improvement is actively pursued and progress measured. For 2014 a stream-lined application process will be based around a site visit by a team of Assessors who will base their judgement on what they see and hear. This information is then used to form a comprehensive feedback report. An independent Awards Jury will then decide the Awards to be made.

2014 entrants complete a simple Application Document setting out Key Information, most of which will already be to hand. The Key Information will help the assessors understand what you are all about and help them plan with you to ensure a successful visit when they come on site.

No longer is there a need to complete a lengthy and complex submission document – after all, it’s only right and proper that the assessors judge you on what they see and hear on the site visit rather than assess you based on how good you are at writing a fluent narrative.

After the site visit, the assessors complete a detailed Feedback Report which is presented to the independent Awards Jury and later provides you with a comprehensive improvement agenda. The Jury decides the Awards to be made and these are presented at the prestigious and highly regarded Awards Ceremony, attended by hundreds of business people from across the region.

Awards about 02

Special Category Awards

For those not yet ready to enter the main North of England Excellence Awards, or who wish to gain recognition in a particular area, we offer a simplified approach through the Special Award Categories:

  • Customer Service Excellence
  • High Growth
  • Innovation
  • International Trade
  • Leadership
  • Lean/Six Sigma
  • Learning and Development
  • Sustainability

Again, applications are analysed by a team of trained, experienced Award Assessors who recommend deserving organisations to the Award Jury.

The closing date for the Main Awards Registrations is Friday 25th April. The closing date for the Special Category Award submissions is Friday 25th July.

For further information email or on 01925 715245.